Off to the Doctors

IMG_0892.JPG
So I gave in and rang the doctors this morning, amazingly after a bank holiday there was an appointment spare so off I popped to see the doctor.

I’d woken up and my head was absolutely thumping, I put it down to the Midodrine increase, so decided immediately that it would be sensible to drop straight back down to only two a day. I need to slowly titrate up to the three a day, not suddenly go up, my poor head obviously can’t cope. So I didn’t take the first dose this morning and would discuss this with Dr Mason.

Andrew took me along at lunchtime, the weather was awful and the surgery was packed, thankfully there were two doctors on, so the wait wasn’t too long. Dr Mason thankfully organised to see me in a downstairs consulting room as I can no longer make it upstairs.

Anyway, first I discussed with him my shoulder which I seem to have sublaxed on Saturday night when I was getting into bed. The pain is deteriorating and the range of movement is getting worse too. He examined me and got me to show my range of movement on my good side, well my Hypermobility is quite marked and if I do say so myself a bit freakish, so when I was unable to even partially reach up my back with my bad left arm it was obvious I had hurt myself. He has now prescribed me some anti-inflammatory tablets to bring down the swelling inside the joint and advised on some exercises to keep it mobile.

We talked about pain relief as I don’t want to over medicate, and albeit he understood my concerns, he said in the short term I obviously needed to take some additional medication. So I have agreed for the next 48 hours to increase my painkillers.

I updated him with the news regarding Dr Levi, as I haven’t seen Dr Mason for a few weeks, and he was pleased that I had managed to “fast track” the NHS. I explained that Thursday was the day of reckoning and we would be getting the results of the CT scan, MRI and blood tests so he wanted to be kept up to speed.

Finally he explained that Dr Lim’s letter wanted me prescribed for compression garments, however I need measuring and there were no nurses available. I said that wasn’t an issue as I was starting the Midodrine initially so it would wait a week or two, he was happy with that.

The plan is for me to now monitor my own HR and BP as I take and increase my new medications and see how I am getting on, as I explained to him there is no point keep taking lots of tablets if they aren’t helping me. Fingers crossed all these tablets start working their magic.

Leave a comment