What is EDS?

Firstly as of 2017 there are now 13 different types of Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, many being extremely rare! However now the gene mutations have been recognised it is possible for a patient to be tested in all variants apart from Hyper mobile EDS.

Due to the complexity of the condition, no two patients have the same two symptoms, which is why it can take many years to get a diagnosis.

When seeing your GP, ask for a referral to a rheumatologist to discuss your concerns and always write down and problems you are having, how long you have been struggling for and also make sure you write any questions you may have, those initial meetings always are a bit intimidating.

If and when you get a diagnosis it’s a positive thing, it means you have known something has been wrong all this time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s