Paul Carella Gig at The Borderline

Having spent the previous night in Canary Wharf, I was really excited to know we were heading back into London for the Paul Carella concert.  I had organized tickets ages ago and just kept my fingers crossed that I hadn’t over spent my spoons by going out two evenings in a row.  I decided to spend the day in bed and get up as late as possible, this meant I could really relax until the very last minute.

We decided to head to Town and grab a bite to eat there and just for a change it was left for me to chose.  This is like dicing with death at the moment with my appetite so poor Andrew could end up with all sorts of rubbish on his plate.  I already knew what I wanted though, as we had headed to the Borderline on various occasions I had seen this place and had promised myself we would go.  Well this was the night we would head along and try our little piece of Florida in London, Chipotle.  

After a yummy dinner we got our tickets and went along to the venue for the first time ever my chair and I were almost an inconvenience.  The security man was a bit huffy, I had my isotonic drink which he tried to make me pour away, after a lot of persuasion he allowed me to keep it, we then slowly made our way down the stairs.  We have done this on several occasions, my chair is always stored in the back office and two seats are saved in my name.  We got downstairs and the security guy had disappeared and no seats had been reserved despite me having an email assuring me it had been done.  Someone gave up a seat, so I could sit down but for the first time I was disappointed with the Borderline.  

Soon it was time for Dexeter to take to the stage as always it was a magnificent set from the two of them, yes we just had the delights of Dee and Gareth.  They never fail to make me smile, however when they dedicated “Older” to Andrew and I that was it not only did I have a smile I had tears in my eyes.  I was truly touched by the sentiment, they are gorgeous people both inside and out.  Real kind hearted friends, always have time for a few words and a hug.  Their talent shines through and I hope that when they hit the USA later this year, that they knock them dead.

  
Next it was Paul’s turn, he was due to have his full band but he was only accompanied by Alex Hillman none the less this did not disappoint.  I had never seen Paul live previously, I had heard his music on CD and I have really loved it, so when we found out about this gig we knew we had to attend.  From the first chord I was astounded, it was just brilliant, he has a real raspy sound a bit like Kip Moore I think if you want a comparison.  My one complaint was the gig was far too short, all too soon he was finishing.  I will be going to another concert as soon as I can, hopefully a full band one to get a taster of what that feels like.  In the meantime I got a copy of his CD and after getting it signed after the concert, I of course played it cover to cover on the way home.

It’s the home grown talent that needs our support on the UK Country Music scene, they are all amazing, talented and worth traveling to see.  Paul is due to be at the Bull’s Head in Barnes, London tonight, tickets are £8 in advance or £10 on the door, do make the effort he’s well worth a look 😉
  

Leave a comment